The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer believes that increasing the tickets' price will be able to attract same higher number of music enthusiasts, as it is these days; therefore, he claims that in the days to come the Grandview Symphony will be self-reliant enough in its financial matters, and it can succeed without city government's funding. And in addition, he furnishes the success story of recent concerts-in-the-park series in an attempt to shore up his assertion: Grandview Symphony has a good and successful future, particularly in terms of its finance. The premises supplied by him might be true; clearly, however, on meticulous analysis, the argument is inadequate, because it is truly devoid of required amount of hard-facts and associated information, which is really necessary for a robust argument. As a result, the assumption - and the finally put forwarded conclusion too - sounds out-and-out skeptical. For this reason, before I accede to the argument, to be clear, I have following doubts.

Firstly, and probably most importantly, if we read between the lines a little, it becomes obvious that the writer assumes same higher number of music enthusiasts will be attracted even after doubling the ticket price, which sounds unjustifiable: there is no further explanation regarding the possible reaction of such visitors after the price hike. Number of people might have increased these days mainly for the cheap tickets and the service it provides. Therefore, in this context, after doubling the price, these visitors might stop attending its concert series and might go for searching more cheaper shows. Thus, in order to fortify his argument, the author ought to speak more on the relative prices of Grandview Symphony and its competitors; doing so will further support his claim.

Furthermore, it can be deduced from the memo that the author regards the "internationally known" conductor as the sole reason behind the success of the Grandview. Nevertheless, the success might also be due the effort of other staffs, and in addition, the Grandview might have established better management team and infrastructures, which might have contributed to its recent success. The memo speaks nothing in this regard, however. By explicating in this ball game, the author will be able to corroborate his claim.

To recapitulate, many specifics and details are yet to be discussed thoroughly regarding the argument of the author. The author should not assume that the Symphony will be able to attract equal number of music enthusiasts, even after the price hike. Further, the assumption that conductor as the sole reason behind Grandview's success is also groundless. Therefore, in order to make this argument more convincing, the author should be able to dispel aforementioned doubts from us.