The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a farming publication.

With continuing publicity about the need for healthful diets, and with new research about the harmful effects of eating too much sugar, nationwide demand for sugar will no doubt decline. Therefore, farmers in our state should use the land on which they currently grow sugar cane to grow peanuts, a food that is rich in protein and low in sugar . Farmers in the neighboring country of Palin greatly increased their production of peanuts last year, and their total revenues from the crop were quite high.

The letter sender believes that the demand for the sugar will plummet in the near future;therefore, he posits to replace sugar cane cultivation with the peanut cultivation in his state. He furnishes the example of neighboring country of Palin in an attempt to shore up his claim: peanut cultivation will be more successful. The premise supplied by him might be true, on scrupulous assay of the letter, many hard facts which could have made his argument more robust is truly lacking, however. As a result, the assumption and the finally derived conclusion sounds utterly skeptical. Therefore, before I accede to his recommendation, I have following doubts.

Firstly, and probably most importantly, while reading between the lines it can be inferred that the letter sender unfairly assumes that peanut cultivation success in Palin will guarantee its success in his state too. However, he has not given any information, or the reasons - owing to which he assumed this. The fundamental soil quality, its PH value, organic matter contents, irrigation status might be different between the soils of these two states. The soil of Palin might be more suitable for peanut - rather than sugar cane - due to which peanut cultivation became to be successful there. In contrast, the soil of his state might not be of same characteristics. Hence, the letter sender should address this concern giving more explicit information in this regard.

Furthermore, the letter sender clearly mentions that TOO much sugar eating is harmful for health; it does not mean people should not eat sugar, rather it means people should not take excessive amount of sugar. There might be a situation in his state where people take sugar at only healthy and prescribed quantity, however, they might be eating lots of candies, ice-creams and other products consist of sugar. In this situation, people will not stop buying sugar - rather they will stop overeating of other sugary products. Consequently, sugar demand might not decrease and the other sweet product's demand may go down. In this context, his argument might be abortive from the scratch. Thus, the letter sender should further explicate about the sugar eating demeanor of hoi polloi of his state.

Finally, the reason why the letter writer recommended exclusively peanut is anything but clear: there might be several other alternative crops to the sugar cane. He should have elucidated whether it has merely economical reasons or something ecological reasons to boot. There might be several high value crops available in the market which could would be really lucrative to farmers. Additionally, it is prevalent that any ecology and the farming culture supports several flora species. In such context, the writer should make clear, why exclusively peanut.

To recapitulate, many specifics still need to be discussed regarding the suggestion put forwarded by the letter sender. He should not assume that success of other country can be duplicated in his state too in the same fruitful manner. In order to prop up his argument, he should address concerns raised above in a well-elaborated fashion.