Leadership change most after five years.

Leadership, by definition, is a dynamic concept: it varies its form, and meaning depending upon several factors ,like, time, place et cetera. While some people might argue that leadership is an static concept, for they always consider that the word LEADERSHIP is valid only in political play, and they further argue, since the ancient time the very word defines the same, that is, ability to work for peoples’ welfare. Hence, they finally conclude that it is not really necessary to refine the leadership after certain period of time because whoever is capable of fulfilling their certain demands today, can do it in the changed scenario of tomorrow also. However, my view, which acutely contradicts with some critics’ view stated above, is that society – and the global community too, which changes its form rapidly, and to understand the transformed society, leadership must be refined after certain period, lets say, after five years.

Those who would argue that if current leadership is fulfilling present public demands, it would not be compelling for them to provide space for leadership refinement might give example of Nepalese Politics. Late Girija Prasad Koirala, once popular PM among Nepalese people, did his best and gratified peoples’ demand; he became PM for five times. Later, his performance started to decline, but still his myrmidons claimed that he is the only one who deserve this position because he has contributed much for democracy in the past. Upto this point, the critic’s position may be right to some extent, however, due to his obdurity to stay in power, Nepal achieved nothing significant in his politically active era. The pith of the story was that he mainly did not allowed for leadership refinement, and always insisted that he is the only one who deserve to be the PM. In this power-play, he rarely gave attention to economic progress, but always stayed solicitous about his turn for premiership. Now what? Due to such leadership freezing culture, Nepal is among the most indigent countries in the world.

Now, consider the stories of two giant neighbors of Nepal: China and India. In China (People’s Republic of China), according to some political analysts, the changes brought by Mao Zedung was the demand of time. The contemporary policies put forwarded by Mao, as the chairperson of Chinese Communist Party, was highly intended to isolate China from international community. He closed all the doors of China, and did whatever he thought, it was right – including the inhumane cultural revolution. Later, Deng Xiaoping came to the helm, and convinced his fellow party members, and hoi poloi that the time has demanded some vital changes, including opening the Chinese economy for foreigners. Finally, he redefined Chinese economic sphere, going against many Mao’s ideology to some esteem. Later, Ziang Zamin came to the eminence of the Chinese politics, and carried some of the good legacies of his predecessors and further refined the system as per his brain. Due to these gradual changes, along with the change in leadership, now China stands as the second largest economy with net economic volume of some $ 17 trillions. In crux, it is the change brought about by the refinement in leadership along with the dynamic time.

Like China, India is another genuine example where its leadership is doing its best to bring change in the life of its peoples. When Dr. Manmohan Sing was finance minister, he contributed his country by introducing metro-rail in the Indian capital – Delhi. Additionally, he gave good momentum to his country’s economy. As his party was enthralled by his performance as the finance minister, finally, he climbed to the chair of Premiership. Now, Narendra Modi came to the power after wooing Indian people that he will establish India as a estimable country in the world. After, his advent, he helped India to achieve a robust economic growth of 7.5% this year – the fastest growth, which overtakes China, in the world for this year. He has brought solid plans to enhance connectivity in Indian states by introducing bullet trains, and for this Indian authorities has asked for help with countries like, China and Japan. Looking from outside, it seems, they are thriving in their plan till today.

To recapitulate, above referred premises are enough to consolidate my assertion that leadership needs to be refined, and redefined after a certain period of time; popularly after five years period. The examples presented – including that of Nepal, China, and India makes clear the role of new leadership toward the sophistication of the country. Today, Nepal is in the worse condition mainly due to freeze leadership, and its two giant neighbors are striding in the development due to leadership refinement and the original visions carried by them.