Imagination is more important than Knowledge.

Which one is more important: imagination or knowledge? While some critics’ might argue that these both are equally important, clearly they can not be compared for their relative importance. Although the importance of knowledge is undeniable, in my view, importance of imagination outstrips the importance of knowledge.

Those who would argue that comparing the relative importance of imagination, and knowledge is like a famous bewildering question: “which one came first – egg or chicken?”. Baffling isn’t it? The argument I am going to deconstruct is not as bemusing as the contention of egg and the chicken. In this case, we can explicitly say that imagination is the mother of knowledge: the giant tree of knowledge is standing tall mainly due to the xylem, and cellulose components supplied by the imagination. Consistent imagination ministers the field of knowledge to grow and reach the eminence. The examples of modern scientists – like Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein – are sufficient to prove that imagination outweigh the knowledge.

Now, consider the another aspect of the argument: imagination is far more important than knowledge, which I adhere. Sir Issac Newton – famous English physicist and mathematician who is popular for his gravitational law, and law of motion – observed the fall of apple on the orchard. Then what? He went to the deep imagination to find out the reason of why all objects – including apples – fall downward. Due to his abyss imagination, he finally derived several principles related to gravitation. Today, all his principles are decorated in thousands of books and present as knowledge. We study, some times memorize it as well, to retain in our mind, and finally this fact do not permit us to forget that this knowledge was the result of great imagination. In addition, like Newton, Albert Einstein is no different. He explicitly mentioned that knowledge is very limited, and the imagination is endless; imagination has capacity to encompass the entire universe in a nano-second.

Similarly, Wright brothers, famous for inventing, and flying the world’s first successful airplane, are example of what imagination can do. They made the first controlled, sustained flight of a powered, heavier-than-air aircraft on 17 December of 1903. Their discovery, resulted due to the effort of their prodigious imagination, changed the world. Due to the advancement of aircrafts today, man has started to think about going to Mars, and to some extinct they are successful as well. All credit goes to Wright brothers who dared to imagine flying high, and touching the sky; before them all these things were a myth and present only in some stories like god or demon flew in the sky.

To recapitulate, from the example presented above, it is, finally, lucid that imagination is more important than knowledge. Imagination is the mother of knowledge; imagination of great dreamers discovers something original which when printed on some scientific journal, we commonly regard as knowledge, The presented examples of Newton, Einstein, and Wright brothers substantiates my position.