The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaint received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The business manager of a television station recommends to restore the previously appropriated time to the weather forecasting and local news. To shore up his claim, he mentions that after reducing the time allocated for these two programs, both viewers and the advertising revenue plummeted compelling for an exigent need to restore it for the sustainability of the station. Although the evidences supplied by the manager might be true, his assumption and the derived final conclusion is utterly fallacious, and can be substantiated if below described specific details are addressed.

The business manager explicitly mentions that after decreasing the time to broadcast weather and local news, accompanied with the increased national news, the station received more complaints related to weather and the local news. However, he does not explicate further regarding what type of complaints the station received: the weather related news are quite boring, infect and hence the viewers might have complained suggesting the shut down of it completely. Similarly, viewers might have complained about the local news as they still perceived it unnecessarily lengthy. No body enjoy watching same banal scene happening in own neighbor, so the viewers might have intense interest to know further more about international affairs. The manager reveals they the limited the time separated for weather and local news increasing the national news time: there is a possibility that before the change the time for national news was only 15 minutes and the time for weather and local news was 1 hour and 45 minutes. After the change the time for national news might have been 25 minutes (merely 10 minutes more than before) and the time for remaining two programs might have been reduced by only 10 minutes. In this case, the whole program design is against the consumers' preferences. Therefore, in order to prop up the argument, the manager should elucidate these details.

By the same token, the manager cites that the advertisement revenue has been abated over the last year; however, this argument is also abstruse. There might have been several reasons behind loss on interest of the advertisers. There might have emerged competitors who accede to advertise at a quite cheaper rate. Therefore, personally I advise the manager to carryout research about the adversary in the market. Manager's recommendation would be far robust if he encompass these facts about competing TV stations.

Finally and probably most importantly, the manager assumes that restoring the previous time for the weather and local news will attract more viewers and the revenue. Nevertheless, there may be an entertainment show in another TV channel alluring more viewers at night. In such circumstance, viewers would find news more vapid even if it is restored, for people anticipate some enjoy, and amusement at night after the whole-day work. He has considered that people would love to watch news in lieu of amusing show even during night. Laughable, isn't it? Therefore, the manager would have engendered more compelling recommendation, if he had explained several abstruse points hidden behind.

To recapitulate, the assumption and the recommendation put forwarded by the manager is totally incompetent. His argument would have been far strong if he was able to address many specific details raised above. Clearly, more exhaustive research is needed before jumping to this conclusion hurriedly.