The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

A manager suggests that they should structure their late-night news program to the previous one of how they devoted time to national and local news. His or her reason for such suggestion is based on viewer's complaints and the cancellations of local business. He or she argues that it can attract more viewers and avoid losing revenues. It might seem reasonable at a first glance. However, there are some logical inconsistancy in this memorandum.

To start with, the coverage of national or local news is largely depends on what actually takes place rather than people's preference. Also, the priority of news reporting changes and the manager does not clealy states whether there is something important happening the country so that time for national news increases. Take federal election for a example, it is obiviously that the news room has to devote some more time in such national news than the local news.

Secondly, whether local businesses cancel their advertisement on the program is due to less time for local weather and news in the program is early to tell. The manager fails to provide enough details on this. Is it due to the local businesses' market strategy that they are putting more efforts on internet marketing rather than on traditional medias? Plus, are there any new comers to make advertisment? We don't know. Blaming more national news for losing contracts is not grounded.

Thirdly, even if the news room does restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its old level, will they successfully acttract more viewers? It is just too early to tell regradless that the manager does not specifiy that how many viewer are complaining about the coverage. Do those who complain represent the viewers as a whole? We don't see at this memorandum.

In sum, the suggestion on time reallocation of the news is somewhat inplausible due to the fallious drawbacks discussed above. To better understand what is going on, the television station should conduct a comprehensive study of who the viewers are and how they fell about the news. For the local bussinesses who cancel the contracts, specic details should be collected.