The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, the business manager has stated a decision to increase time for national news over the late-night forecast for the station. Previously the station had dedicated more time for forecasting the local-news and weather predictions for the region. But now the manager has made some vague assumptions while making this decision.

The first assumption he made, prioritizing the national news over local-news and weather forecasts. Even though the manager's intentions were good for putting the nation over the local-news, the people did not like the decision. People were relying on the local-news bulletin for the regional important news. People were habitual to check next day weather forecast so that they can plan their day accordingly. But as the manager has reduced the forecasting time for the news, people started complaining about it. Because of the very same reason, people started shifting their viewing loyalty to the other television stations.

More on that, the station has observed that as the viewers got reduced the local businesses started getting less number of the views for their advertising. The impact of this was on the revenue. These people started canceling their contracts with the station.

After a year of complaints and with having lesser revenue the manager has revoked the decision to forecast national news over the local-news and weather forecast.