The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The station manager in the prompt is stating there has been a reduction in the listeners of their music broadcast. The reason he suggested that the newly retired people recently moved to this region has no interest in rock music format. Hence changing the show format could raise the listeners for the station. Even if the reasons he has expressed in the memorandum but the pieces of evidence are provided are not satisfactory.

First reason for the decline in the listener is the rock-music format. He suggested that new people who are starting to settle in the broadcasting region are the retired people, old people. He has failed to support the declined listeners' reason. The people moved from a different region of the country, they might have different taste in music. People might be used to listen to Jazz or Country or any other music format. With more strong boastful evidence, the manager could have said that the rock-music format is not suitable for these new residents.

Second reason he has mentioned is even after changing the music format as per the people's taste, there still is declination in the listeners. The manager has suggested that they should change the music shows to other shows like talk shows, where people get interviewed or news format where the station can offer the latest movements and trends that are going in the region. With this, he is suggesting that this might cause a reduction in a continuous decrease in listeners.

If the manager has answered some questions like What if people have developed taste in watching the songs instead of listening to them? What if people are more into listening to the music on other streaming stations which has fewer or no ads? What if the people are not into music at all and are into watching entertainment shows on television? What if people not interested in station hosts? With the answers to these questions, we could have said the argument is strong.