The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The WAAC radio station’s manager claims for a change in the format that they usually propose based on missing evidence.

The first piece of evidence which is needed in order to evaluate the first conclusion of the manager about the necessity to change the rock-music format is to investigate which is the main reason why the number of radio listeners is declining. Indeed, the manage readily assumes that the change in the type of music streamed is necessary to reverse the decline in listener numbers. However, it could be the case that current population in the area where WAAC is located do not listen anymore to the radio station because of different reasons. For instance, it could be that there has been an increase in the time dedicated to advertising and less time for music. Or, new podcasts have been introduced which have supplanted others which radio listeners do not enjoy. Therefore, the first piece of evidence needed is any mention about why people living in this area is currently reducing their time listening to WAAC.

Moreover, the manager aims to make listeners the retirees moving to the area where WAAC is broadcasted. He assumes that they would not like the rock-music format and that the radio should change to a format which is coherent with their tastes. However, no mention has been made about how those aged people enjoy their spare time. Maybe they do not even listen to radio. In this case, the change in the rock-music format would not have any effect. In addition, the manager claims that no one is interested in music since CDs sales are declining. First, the fact that people do not buy CDs anymore does not imply that their interest in music id declining. And then, for which category of music CDs sales are going down? If it is for rap music or pop music the manager should not be worried about his rock-music format.

The manger also claims a switch to news and talk format which is becoming increasingly popular in the area, but he did not question about whether people actually like this kind of format. Indeed, if other radios in the area are experiencing a decline in listeners then maybe this new format could be a reason. If this is the case, WAAC should not change to news and talk format.

In conclusion, the conclusions done by the managers are completely based on faulty assumptions and they need more evidence in order to be evaluated. Why the current population is reducing the listening of WAAC, the size of the retirees moving to the area and their tastes and whether citizens in the area like the new format of news and talk broadcasted by other radios