Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The controversial issue of whether critical judgment of work from a layman has little value is a topic worth of debate. Indisputably, the opinion from an expert is usually extremely helpful, however an amateur can help us to focus on some practical details that we may neglect. Thus, I partially agree with the claim since both the expert and the layman can provide us with helpful insights.

The main reason which leads me to partially agree with the claim is that it is certainly true that an expert’s judgment is always extremely helpful. In order to show my point, we can think about real life examples where expert’s judgments are paid. Consider the case of consulting firms in the business filed: Deloitte or KPMG. They have professionals whose work is to give advice to firms about, for instance, how to successfully conduct their business. Therefore, the fact that those people is paid clearly shows that their critical judgment is worthy and extremely helpful. However, experts’ judgments can be excessively focused on specific details and neglect other aspects. For instance, if a researcher is working on how to design robots to help elderly people, experts’ help will be concerned and focused on more technical details in order to be sure that the robots work. The consequence is that they may neglect more practical properties of the robot.

Given that an expert’s critical judgment is always welcomed, how can a layman give helpful insights? People outside of a specific field can contribute by focusing on more practical issues that may be neglected by professionals. In order to show my point, we can extend the previous example about the robots’ production. Indeed, non-experts will be the final consumers of the robots and thus they can provide practical advices to the engineer. For example, how the robots should help old people to eat.

One can argue that it is not always the case that layman’s judgment can be helpful. For instance, if the government is designing a policy to reduce unemployment it could be the case that citizens have nothing to add to the economists’ views on the policy. Indeed, the latter have analyzed all the possible consequences on the economic system. However, citizens can have a prospective that lacks to economists and politicians, for instance they can imagine the real-life effects on their daily routine of the policy.

In conclusion, there is no doubt about the helpfulness of an expert’s critical judgment and this reinforced by the fact that in a real-life setting they are usually paid for consulting. Additionally, non-professionals can also provide experts with insights about practical issues that may be neglected by the latter.