Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement raises a controversial topic about whether new technologies actually enhance or hinder the process of learning for students. Indisputably, if videos, laptops or the Web completely supplant and replace the standard way of teaching, this could definitely be distracting for students. However, most of the times these technologies are used as complementary tools for learning, in this case they can be extremely helpful.

Video lessons, computers and more generally all the available information which can be found surfing the Web is an invaluable source in order to consolidate what has been learned by students in the classroom. Indeed, the helpfulness of these new technologies depend crucially on the fact that they should not replace in any way the traditional model that professors use to teach. Front lessons should also be considered as the only way to explain new topics and introduce new subjects to students. The advantages of the traditional classes are several. First, the new subject is introduced and explained by a professor who will have acquired through time enough experience to be able to explain to students new and hard topics in the more effective and efficient way. Moreover, students will interface with a real person and they will be more engaged and less passive compared to be in front of a screen. By contrast, if, for instance, video lessons supplant the professors this will induce students to be less focused and more prone to be distracted since there is no real person who is talking with them. Therefore, the main point is that having a real person who is talking with students have three main advantages compared to a video lesson or a laptop: experience in the fields and familiarity to cope with students and the possibility to scold students if not giving enough attention to the lesson.

In addition, under the condition that new technologies do not replace professors, they could be extremely helpful for students. Before the invention of the computer and of the Web, students did not have the possibility to consolidate what they have listened and learned in the classroom if not by looking again at the same book’s pages explained by the professor. Nowadays, this is radically different. YouTube is full of millions of video lessons on basically every topic in every field. For instance, suppose an economic student need to take the course in microeconomics. He or she went to classes but did not understand all the topics covered. What can he or she do? Just browse on the Internet and watch different video lessons on the topics that he or she did not understand. This could be a different way to listen again to the same argument but explained in a different way. In this case, new technologies definitely boost the possibility for students to understand every topic covered and not to distract them from real learning.

In conclusion, under the circumstance that front lessons carried out by professors remain the first and major way to teach, new technologies could be extremely helpful for students by offering them the possibility to consolidate what has been explained during lessons.