SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that SuperCorp's decision to move its headquarters from Middlesburg to Corporateville is a well-done decision. Stated in this way the argument manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation. Moreover, it fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which the final conclusion can be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on several unstated assumptions, thus the argument is weak and has several flaws.

The argument readily assumes that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg because of the increase in the number of homeowners. However, the argument links two different dimensions which are not necessarily connected. It makes a parallel between the increased number of homeowners in Corporateville and the superiority of Corporateville as a location for the headquarters. Indeed, even if Corporateville could be a better place for families to live this does not imply that it is better place to move for the production process. Moreover, the argument fails to mention the reason why the number of homeowners has surged and whether this people have moved from Middlesburg to Corporateville. The argument could have been much more clearer if it explicitly mention whether people have abandoned Middlesburg for Corporateville for a specific reason and if the increase in the number of homeowners is in someway connected to a better place for the production process.

In addition, the argument mentions the survey in order to sustain its conclusion. However, it fails to mention any detail about the survey. How many employees did the survey? Where do these employees live? Indeed, if it turns out that those workers that took the survey live at Corporateville than it is clear that they voted for Corporateville becasue they want the headquarters to be located in their hometown. Additionally, the argument mentions the lower tax regime of Corporateville as a reason for moving the headquarters. The argument makes the implicit assumption that lower taxes means safer place to work and also a cheaper one. Clearly, there is no reason why lower taxes would imply a safer place to live. Whereas, lower taxes could imply cheaper cost for the SuperCorp but not necessarily. In fact, if at Corporateville the rent for the headquarters is much higher compared to Middlesburg than the savings due to lower taxes are vanished. Therefore, the conclusion would have been much more cogent if the argument would have mentioned the size of the savings due to lower tax regime and more details about the survey.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentions all the relevant facts. Without the information stated above the conclusion is still open to debate.