Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether resources should be transferred from the art sector to unemployed and hungry people. In some extreme scenario, like during wartime, it could be true but usually it is not a well-designed policy. Governments should not suspend transfers to the art sector when employment rate is low or when a large share of the population lacks primary resources. The proposed recommendation could have a negative net effect in terms of unemployment and it could turn out to be only a temporary solution.

The main reason which leads me to reject the above recommendation is the possibility that, if the above recommendation is in place, the net effect of the policy on the population could be negative. Indeed, if governments allow to suspend funding for the art sector in order to transfer those resources to unemployed and hungry people, the working force of the art sector could be negatively hit by this policy. It is certainly true that the amount of resources taken from the art sector and moved to fund unemployed and hungry citizens can make them better off. However, it is certainly true as well that citizens working for the art sector will likely become unemployed because of lack of resources for the entities they work for. In fact, it often happens that museums, theatres and galleries are no-profit organizations for which governments funding represents a large share of their revenues. Therefore, it could be extremely hard for them to earn enough money to pay wages for their workforce. Moreover, if we think about countries whose GDP is largely produced by their art sectors, for instance Italy, Spain and France, the net effect of the policy is even worse. In those countries tourism is extremely linked to their cultural and art heritage sectors. Therefore, a lack of resources for the art sector would imply a reduction in tourism activity: the policy will propagate the negative effects in two different sectors of the economy and not solely in the cultural sector.

In addition, the recommendation is likely to be just a transitory solution to a structural problem. Unemployment and lack of food to some part of the population are usually a fundamental and not transitory problems of a country. However, the solution proposed is likely to generate only short-term benefits if in place. To expand the point on the previous section, to suspend government funding for the art sector and donate these resources to unemployed and hungry citizens will certainly reduce the rate of unemployment but only in the short-term. In fact, as the lack of resources in the art’s sector starts to be evident the rate of unemployment will rise again, and the government will face the same problem. Should they cut transfers for other sectors? It is clear that the policy could, in the best scenario, only induce short-term benefits. What it is needed is a structural reform for the economy in order to definitely solve those issues. For instance, nations should elaborate policy to increase permanently the number of jobs available in the economy.

However, the above recommendation could be the right strategy in very extreme and specific circumstances. In wartime people change their consumption behavior. Indeed, citizens tend to cut any expense on goods and services which are not primary goods in order to save more money for foods. Therefore, in this extreme scenario, since the demand for the art sector is likely to be depressed during wartime, the policy could have a net positive effect on population.

In conclusion, the recommendation has two main drawbacks: it is likely to be just a transitory solution to fundamental problems and it is likely to generate a negative net effect on the economy if in place in normal times.