Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the learning process is bolstered or hindered by opposing point of views. Indisputably, excessive disagreement can cause stress, however it could be extremely helpful. Thus, I generally disagree with the both the claim and the reason proposed.

The main reason which leads me to refute the claim and the reason on which it is based is the historical evidence that shows how disagreement does not inhibit learning but actually bolters it. Human beings are not perfect by nature and thus even what has been produced by them. Shared point of views on the same topic will hardly identify what lacks on a specific theory or idea. For instance, the Catholic Church was firmly sure about the geocentric view and tried to stop any different views about this issue. What was needed to start to spread the heliocentric view was Giordano Bruno. Bruno was clearly the opposite part who bolstered and not inhibit learning among people. Without his presence, it would have been impossible for someone into the Catholic Church to spread this view since everyone was in accordance with the geocentric view. Moreover, the historical evidence is plentiful: Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Malcom X are only few that oppose their view and speed up the development.

In addition, also everyday life offers opportunity to see that opposing point of views actually does not hinder the learning process. In any academic fields, any new idea from a researcher starts from analyzing what lacks in another work which has been previously done. Therefore, even in this case the disagreement is the starting point for something new. For instance, the two physicists Einstein and Bohr had contrasting views on several issues concerning the validity of the quantum mechanics. However, their debates have certainly been helpful for its development. Moreover, politics have always been based on contrasting point of views on several problems. Even when one political party wins the election there is always a minority party who represents the opposite point of views. So far, the introduction of politic has fostered development in modern society. Disagreement could cause distress in specific circumstances, for instance, when a shared result wants to be achieved. The success of Apple, Microsoft or Lamborghini could not have been achieved with disagreement about how to conduct the business inside the company.

In conclusion, disagreement both historically and in everyday life has bolstered the learning process and it could be dangerous only in specific circumstances.