Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Communication is the basis on which progress is created upon. By sharing ones ideas with those whose view of the world differs from oneself, it is possible to widen the mental horizon and to delve into problems from multiple angles. Take the following examples as a guide to support this statement.

Picture the following scenario. It is the 16th century Europe. The scientific consensus of the time is that the Earth is motionless and everything in the universe revolves around it. One man, Nicolaus Copernicus dares to speak up to these claims and declare his own theory of a heliocentric world. One that revolves around the Sun rather than Earth. As he’s observations are based on bare sight due to the fact that telescope had not been invented yet, it was easy for fellow scientist to dismiss those ideas. By blindly following the historic fixed beliefs, those people put themselves off from learning. They were unable to grasp the idea that previous knowledge might be wrong and therefore preferred to live in disbelief.

History presents us an another wonderful chapter from the same story. Galileo Galilei, an astronomer who followed Copernicus’s studies and constructed a telescope to prove those ideas was equally not welcomed in the science community. He was even famously forced to give up on his beliefs in order not to be punished. Such an orthodox world was unable to grasp revolutionary ideas and therefore suffocated its own possibilities of learning. It can be seen that yes, indeed disagreement causes stress, even immense stress and also inhibit learning. But by not being liberal enough one also encloses itself from truth.

Learning is often an arduous process. New ideas are difficult to grasp. People look for affirmations to their previous knowledge and understandings. Analyzing new information, categorizing it inside our minds and remembering it for the years to come is a difficult process in its own. Children are more susceptible for novel ideas as their view of the world has not yet developed into a whole. Yet this same seemingly fulfilling grasp of the world can be an obstacle for and adult to realize that previous knowledge might be erroneous.

It is possible to conclude that as a process of learning itself is difficult and people tend to believe their previous knowledge more that new data, it is understandable why conflicting ideas cause stress and a human mind seeks for the path of least resistance and thereby opposes those ideas. Sadly, it can lead to a situation of blindly following old incorrect beliefs.