The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that the restriction of the water flow through all the shower heads of the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers will reduce the costs for the organization and thus bolster their profits. Therefore, the argument concludes by saying that the restriction of the water flow should be adopted to all the twenty floors of the building. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors on which the conclusion can be evaluated. Moreover, it manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation. The conclusion of the argument relies on several unstated assumptions and thus it is unconvincing.

The argument readily assumes that the restriction of the water flow to approximately one third of the original power to all the shower heads of the first five floors will induce the Sunnyside corporation to cut expenses for water usage. However, more evidence is needed in order to conclude so. Firstly, the argument assume that people will use water for the same length of time and therefore, since the water flow is reduced, the associated cost will be lower. Nonetheless, it is necessary to answer the following question: will people use water for more time since its flow is now reduced? If this is the case then, it could happen that the lower costs associated to the reduced water flow has been not compensated because of the lengthier time that people use water. In addition, the society based its conclusion on the increased profits merely on intuition since no results on water usage are available yet. The argument could have been much clearer if it has mentioned whether people has increased the time of water usage after its flow restriction and if it has based the effectiveness on profits of the water restriction of actual data.

Secondly, the argument generalizes the possible positive effect of water flow restriction of the first five floors to the entire building. Indeed, the argument concludes by advocating for the adaptation of the restriction to the twenty floors of the building based on the assumption that since the restriction has been successful in the first five floors it will be in the entire building as well. However, the generalization is faulty because of two main reasons. There is no data which shows the effectiveness of the restriction on profits after the introduction in the five floors, thus there is no guarantee that it will work for the entire building. Secondly, how does the company know if people will not use more water from other sources? For instance, from sinks? If the argument had provided evidence that the five floors policy was effective, and that people will not increase water usage from other sources the conclusion would have been clearer.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed by the above-mentioned reasons and it is therefore unconvincing. In order to assess the merits of a certain decision, it is necessary to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors. Thus, the conclusion is still open to debate.