All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

This topic raises the controversial issue on whether parents should dedicate some of their time to volunteer activity for their children’s schools. Indisputably, in certain situations it could be extremely helpful but most of the times it can create negative effects. Parents volunteer activity to their children’s schools should not be mandatory. The recommendation could severely hinder the development of kids and have negative effects on both kids’ parents and on the community.

The main reason which leads me to reject the above recommendation are the negative effects that could be induced by the presence of parents at schools on their kids. Education at schools is one of the most important steps in the development of a child. In the classroom, kids meet two different types of subjects: teachers and other kids. The relationship with the latter is the first step done by children to interact with their peers. Therefore, it is fundamental that they act not under the judgment of their parents. Whereas, the relationship with the former is the first time the kid has a direct relationship with an authoritarian figure who is not their parents. Therefore, it is clear as entering in a classroom, and more generally being at school, is a key step in the formation of a kid, and it is of primary importance that they start to behave independently by their parents. If parents are required to volunteer their time to school their presence will definitely hinder or bias the learning process of their kids.

In addition, if it is mandatory for each parent to devote some time to their children’s schools, this is likely to have negative effects on the parents themselves and on the community. The volunteer activity could have two different drawbacks for kids’ parents: it could reduce the amount of time devoted to work and spare time. If parents have to reduce the time spent at work, which earns them money, to volunteer time to schools, which does not generate income, the family’s wage will be reduced. Clearly, this policy can be extremely dangerous for some families. Moreover, if the recommendation is in place this will create a huge free workforce for the schools. However, this is not a good point. Indeed, the availability of a huge free workforce for schools will steal the jobs to people living in the city, or more generally to the community: the unemployment rate will rase. To volunteer time to school could be accepted only in specific circumstances. Firstly, the activity should not be mandatory but free to be joined only by those who can do it and want to do it. Secondly, the number of volunteer parents at schools should always be not too high in order to be sure that the relationship between students and teachers is not altered by their presence.

In conclusion, the recommendation is not suitable because it can alter the relationship among classmates and teachers. Additionally, it can have negative effects on both parents and the community as a whole.