The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo wrote by the student housing director of Buckingham College, the latter advocates that Buckingham College should build new dormitories for its students. The conclusion is flawed by hidden assumptions and not enough cogent evidences to support it and to clearly convince for the need of new space to host prospective students who will enroll in the following years.

Firstly, why Buckingham College should enlarge its dormitories is based on the evidence that Buckingham’s enrollment is growing. This evidence is not specific enough for two main reasons. First, the director of the student housing is referring to the number of students who are enrolling at Buckingham College and not at those who require a room at its dormitories. Therefore, even if the number of students is going to grow over the following years but the latter do not want to live at the Buckingham College, then there is no need to build new ones. Second, there is another point which weaken this evidence. In the memo it is just written that the number of students is going to double in the over the next 50 years, but it is not stated current number of students. In other words, if the current number of students is, for instance, 200, then it is very different if the latter number double compared to a higher number, for example 1000. Therefore, suppose the first number proposed is the actual one and combined this information with the fact that not all of the 200 students will necessary live at the campus, then the need for new building is severely weakened.

Secondly, the student housing director mention the evidence that the average rent for private accommodation in town has risen as a further evidence to argue for the need of new spaces. However, this evidence is not strong enough neither. Indeed, it could be true that the average rent for an apartment off-campus has grown but it is necessary to check two different key points. The first one is by how much the latter value has risen. In fact, suppose it has jumped from 200$ to 210$ per month, the following increase is not likely to completely suppress the demand for private housing and to force students to switch to campus. Additionally, the director should have mentioned whether the average rent for off-campus housing is currently higher compared to the Buckingham College’s one to strongly assert that future students will stay at the campus. However, no such evidence is mentioned in the memo. Hence, there is no need to think that the switch from off-campus to campus is likely to happen if the average rent off-campus is still lower compared to the one paid by those who live at the dormitories. Moreover, the director based its conclusion that the increase in the average rent will bolster the demand for student housing on the assumption that the latter location is the only possible solution that the students have to this increase. This is not necessarily true. Indeed, if the students report that their least option is to live on campus, then this could be that they will find other solution to the increase in the average rent. For instance, share an apartment with other students, or rent a room in a house. Finally, there is clearly no evidence saying that more availability in terms of dormitories is going to make the choice for new students to enroll at Buckingham College more likely. Indeed, if Buckingham College education is of very low level, then more availability in terms of dorms will not have any effect in the number of enrollments.