All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In an ideal world, all parents would have the spare time to be able to volunteer at their children’s school. However, that is not the case given the wide range of parents’ requirements and other commitments. While it would be difficult to implement properly, this policy will have a positive effect on the community of a school. Requiring a minimal amount of volunteer work from parents can have many positive repercussions, such as aiding teachers, encouraging interaction between parents, and allowing teachers to observe any potential problems in the home.

Teaching is a taxing job that often requires work after hours and pays approximately $20,000 less than the U.S. median household income. Teachers are often underpaid and overworked for their time teaching future generations. Requiring a small amount of volunteer service from the parents of students will help to ease this load slightly. One possible implementation could require each parent to be responsible for grading another student’s work or purchasing supplies for in class activities. This would aid in alleviating the teacher of performing these mundane tasks throughout the school year.

Required volunteer work can also be spun in a positive light as to not appear as a chore to parents. If parents are encouraged to perform tasks together or volunteer in an environment where they would naturally have contact with each other, the chances of friendships forming between parents is significantly increased. Positive relationships between parents will set a good example for the students, who are especially impressionable at a younger age, and will also foster a community of support between parents.

Interactions by parents with students and other parents can give the teachers and administrators insight into any potential issues with a child’s parents that may interrupt their education. Students who have issues at home are magnitudes more likely to drop out of high school and not attend college. If a parent is required to volunteer with the school, the teacher will have more interactions with the parent in order to identify any potential issues and take action if necessary.

While arguments can be made that requiring service is impossible given the variety of parents’ working schedules, this policy will be effective if implemented correctly. This policy should not require parents to volunteer for specific events or limited events, as conflicts with work or other obligations will cause friction between the parents and faculty. A more productive and amiable approach allows parents to volunteer whenever they are able. Parents can volunteer during class directly helping students or after hours aiding the teacher with grading or creating assignments. If care is taken to ensure that parents of all occupations can participate, this policy can be an effective tool to bring parents, teachers, and students together.