The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular- strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap.”

The director of a large group of hospitals contends that Ultraclean should be supplied at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout their hospital system due to their controlled laboratory study and their recent test. However, there are several logical fallacies and misconstrue which the director neglected.

First, the director neglected the possibility of difference between the laboratory and the real life. In the real life, the number of bacteria existing in our hands differ because it varies whether the person work alone or work at crowded area. To confirm the statement, the director must explain other factors that could influence the number of bacteria have been explicitly excluded and the only reason is a concentrated solution of extra strength Ultraclean.

Second, the director did not provide the exact number of harmful bacteria which was initially existing. If the bacteria living on the hand is too many, reducing them 40 percent would not make big difference. Furthermore, there are no specific criterion about bacteria being harmful. Some of the bacteria which are considered harmful inside the lung could be helpful to hands, reducing the frequency of rusty skin. If the director wants to validate one’s claim, more precise data and standard of the experiment must be provided.

Also, the director did not explain about when the test was actually held. On the memo, it is just mentioned as “recent”. “Recent” is opaque language, it could be a month ago, a year ago, maybe a decade ago. More importantly, there is no information provided whether the data of the study was given after the test. If the doctors, nurses, and visitors knew that the Ultraclean is better than the previous one, they would have used more frequently, leading to decline of patient infection. The director must provide information about when the test was held, especially whether the result of the study was given before the test.

Lastly, there could be other factors why the patient infection decreased which the director might have missed. For example, during the test, there could be widespread education of washing hands more precisely and longer period of time. In this case the reason of lower patient infection could be not because the use of new soap, but the change of washing hands. The director must confirm that other determinants which could give impact on patient infection have been stymied to show that the only reason of the reduction is the new soap.