Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people. Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In the past, the society is just a group of people, less than 100. because of the small number of participants, sharing opinions and making priority of the society was quite an easy job. however, the clock tick towards the modern era, the definition of society has become quite differed. As the number of participant had dramatically increased, several new issues aroused and one of the hot potato was how could we measure the success of the society. In my opinion, when the general welfare of the society is well structured, we could say that the society has some achievement.

Some opponents contend that when estimating the successfulness of the society, the overall success should be at higher rank than whether each one of the citizens is living a happy life. it seems true, and in the real world those aspect was an important factor. In the 1970s, the most important data of the nation is GDP, which to total amount of money that the nation is earning. when we divide GDP into the population of the nation, we could calculate the average income of the citizen. when the average income is high, we think that the nation is happy and admired those nations.

However, we should lay our eyes upon the word average. The meaning of letting GDP the most important thing is that when there are country A which half of the citizens earn 100 dollars and another half earned 60 dollars, and country B which everyone earns 40 dollars, we conclude that those country A achieved as twice as higher level than country B. however, the unemployed half of country A won’t think that oneself are at same level of another half of country A or even the citizens of country B. thinking about the relative poverty that the less income half will experience, it is difficult to confidently claim that country A is better country.

Today, the most important factor for estimating nation’s success is happiness. To make people happy overall, the nation has the obligation to decrease those relative poverty and to do so, the best way is to give a general welfare of all its people. To people who are significantly poor, the nation could raise a fund to support those families. To people who are feeling relative poverty, the society could give chances to have several experiences that could make oneself stop comparing with other and consider profoundly about one’s happiness. I agree that making everyone in the nation getting same amount of happiness. however, making those gaps smaller is what a better nation should do.

In conclusion, the nation should keep focusing on how they can give their citizens welfare efficiently because the time that people think money is more important than happiness had gone already.