Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Society is characterized by the individuals who constitute it. Individual identities combine to form a societal identity as a whole. Thus, the concept of an individual is an integral and inextricable part of the concept of a society. Which is why, I am more aligned to the second argument provided in the question, that well being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

While the overall development and progress of a society is of greater importance, it can only be achieved by enhancing the freedom, liberty and lifestyle of all of it's individuals. If a society is thriving economically, doesn't not mean that the individuals who constitute are benefitting from them. Let me explain this by giving the example of India. India is among the topmost countries in the world in terms of trade and commerce and is regarded as the fastest growing economy in the entire world. While these economic achievements are laudable, it does next to nothing in providing basic necessities to a huge portion of India's population. The hugely unequal distrubution of this wealth among it's people has lead to increased poverty and unemployment. Which is why, eventhough taking a leadership in world economy, one fourth of the Indian population still lives belows poverty line. Such economic progress of the society proves to be of trivial importance if the individuals in the scoiety are not benefitting from it and are not happy.

On the other hand, if emphasis is laid on the individual progress and happiness, then the society will automatically develop as a whole. After all, if everyone is satisfied and progressing, then the society will thrive. This is why more importance is given by the United Nations on the HDI (Human Development Index) rather than the GDP (Gross Domestic Product) of any country. While the GDP stands for the economic progress of the country as a whole, it does not account for the development of every individual. But HDI factor encorporates the development of individuals constituting the society plus the entire society as a whole. Countries such a Norway, Finland, Sweden etc. who tend to give more importance to the upliftment of an individual and protecting their rights and freedom tend to have a higher human development index and correspondingly a higher happiness index. A country is said to be progressing if human development goes hand in hand with economic development. In countries like China, where economy is progressing but the citizens are deprived of basic freedom, there is not use of such societal progress if individual progress is hindered. And thus goes the saying, "money cannot buy happiness".

Thus, if the overall success of the society is given preference over individual well being, then the society may thrive economically, but the freedom and well-being of it's individual will be compromised. And since, individuals are the inherent part of the society, depriving them of prosperousness will eventually lead to a decline of the society. But an effort to enhance the well being of every individual will not only lead to better life style and human developement, but will ensure the progress of the entire society. Which is why the general welfare of the people is of paramount importance for the development and well-being of the society.