The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

History is a broad subject with a wide range of scope. It encompasses the study of prehistory, civilizations, agricultural, ancient humans as well as medieval, modern and post modern period. In short, history is the study of the past. It is the detailed analysis of the events that occured in the past, gathered from various evidences. And history itself proves that humans have changed significantly throughout the period of human history. Thus the claim that the benefit of sthe study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times has some serious flaws and I do not agree with it.

Pre-historic homo sapiens were biologically different than modern humans. Humans lived in caves and were predominantly hunter gatherers. With the advent of agricultural revolution, civilizations came into existence. We started raising domestic animals instead of hunting them for food. Hence food was cultivated in form of crops and fruits. This shows how humans have developed gradually over the course of history. Today, we are living in the age of technology, where we can send messages to people hundreds of kilometers far, with a single click on the mobile phone. If a hunter-gatherer from 10000 years ago were to travel to the present time, he would be perplexed seeing the world around him. This is a significant evidence showing how much we have changed and progressed.

Up until 50-100 years ago, people were indulged in world domination and military warfare. We have encountered two brutal world wars, which lead to a large scale destruction of lives, property and natural resources, merely 80 years ago. But we learnt from our history. We learnt that only peace and cooperation can lead us to a better and prosperous world. We are becoming more aware about our environment and non renewable natural resources. This shows how much we have changed. Today, we live in a world which is, although not perfect, but the most peaceful period in human history.

Apart from this, technology has developed at a tremendous rate due to the rise of industrial revolution. 500 years ago, technological marvels such as bulb, telephones, mobiles, television, internet and other inventions were seeming impossible to achieve. But today these have become the basic requirements.

Then why do we study history? The answer to this question lies in history itself. It is because of the unending human nature of curiosity. We are facsinated about learning things which happened in the past, how they changed the course of history and how are they influencing our lives today. We are curious about history because it is significantly different from what we observe today. This inherent difference, is what makes the study of history interesting. Knowledge of history can help us detect and remedy our past mistakes. A constant method of trial and error until we reach at the correct solution. History is also important in the context of preservation of the record of human civilization and achievements. A record, which will help the future generation to know and learn from the past events and improvise whereever possible. Thus, to say that the main aim of history is to highlight the similarity between past and present, is a completely incorrect statement, and goes against the basic concept of the study of history.