In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

//Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.//

The argument states that the efforts of Prunty county to improve highway safety by reducing the speed limit from 55 mph to 45 mph proved to be futile, since there was no apparent decrease in the number of accidents and drivers were still found to exceed the speed limit. Hence the author suggests that Prunty country should employ the same project which Butler country completed 5 years ago i.e. increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. There are several points in this arguments which are questionable and certain evidences are required to evaluate this situation properly. They are as follows:

First of all, it is necessary to know whether the law of reduced speed limit was executed properly or not. It may be possible that Prunty county did not advertise the newly formed law effectively and failed to put sufficient amount of signboards along the highway, leaving people unaware of the new rule. Since it is mentioned that even after the introduction of the new rule, highway patrol found many divers exceeding the speed limit. Hence, there is a possibility that drivers were unaware of the new rule because of inefficiency on the county's part in publicizing the rule. If this is true, then the county must try to promulgate the law among the people and then check its effectiveness before taking any further steps.

Furthermore, the author suggests that Prunty county should undertake the same kind of road projects that Butler county introduced, which include increasing lane width, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. But the present condition of Prunty county roads is not made clear in the argument. If the condition of roads in Prunty county is already better than Butler county then the argument will immediately collapse. Thus, in order for the argument to hold true, the evidence regarding the present condition of the highway in Prunty county is required.

Even if the highway conditions in Prunty county are lacking and need to be ameliorated as mentioned in the argument, it it necessary to know whether the county possesses necessary funds to undertake these improvement projects. Completely remaking rough highways and expanding lane size are quite expensive projects which require large amount funding. If Prunty county does not have sufficient money to invest in such projects then there is not point in suggesting such schemes. The county must opt for other cheaper options to mitigate their problem.

Even if we assume that Prunty county has sufficient funds to undertake the projects which were employed by Butler county, this does not necessarily guarantee that this will lead to a decrease in the number of accidents. The author mentions that after lowering the speed limit from mph to mph, the drivers were still found to exceed the speed limit. If the drivers in Prunty county are notorious for their rash driving, no amount of road remaking and safety laws will substantially improve the situation. Hence, it is necessary to know the exact cause of the accidents, whether they are due to unsafe roads lack of safety rules or merely because of the reckless driving of the people of Prunty county.

In conclusion, the above evidences are necessary to be presented in order to efficiently assess the problem of accidents. Once these evidences are collected, only then a decision can be made about the further steps that are needed to be taken to abate the problem.