Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is normal to get influenced by people we spend the most time with. Having a good source of inspiration is crucial for a student's development. While teachers do play a significant role in influencing their students, I think students get more influenced by their friend circle, due to the fact that students have more compatibility and fun with their friends as compared to their teachers.

First of all, many students do not pay attention to their teachers. The academic curricula is constructed in such a way that most of the students find them boring. To add to it, many teachers teach in an insipid and uninteresting manner. This distracts the students' focus from studies which results in the dilution of influence of the teacher on the students. A teacher has to pay specific attention to each and every student, according to his/her needs, in order to impart proper education and values. Unfortunately, this is very difficult to achieve given the high student to teacher ratio in most schools. Thus students are bound to get distracted in classes and do not give proper attention to the moral values that the teacher is trying to impart.

Furthermore, students find themselves more comfortable talking to their friends as compared to their teachers. Since all the friends are of the same age group, they have similar interests, while a teacher student relationship has an inherent generation gap. This is why, many students share certain personal details with their friends, which they hesitate to share with their teachers or even parents. And since students are more compatible with their friends, they tend to get influenced by them easily. Hence the well known idea - "You are the average of 5 friends you spend most of your time with".

Lastly, competition among students also leads to an increased influence. For example, students easily get attracted by new clothes and fashion trends adopted by their friends. They always want to have what their friends are having. Students are influenced by their friends and want to keep up with them on every terms due to a sense of competition. They do not want to be left out. This is not true with a teacher. There is no competition or excitement involved for a student in obeying the teachers orders. Unless there is some fun or excitement involved in teacher's teaching, students will not get influenced by them.

To summarize, I disagree with the statement that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends, because of the reasons that students don't pay much attention to teachers, they are more compatible with their friends and they are influenced more by their friends due to the feeling of competition.