People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decisions are a part of our quotidian life. Every now and then we encounter situations where we have to choose between two seemingly appropriate things. While some decisions are easy to make, such as deciding between which flavour of ice-cream to eat for dessert, other decisions are comparatively tough to make, and require thorough deliberation. The method to arrive at a conclusion, the algorithm used to make a decision, differs from people to people.

For some people, emotional feelings affect their decision making. For example, a mother would hesitate to allow to send her child off to college far away from home, even though it is for the sake for his/her bright future. They might back it up with logics such as "The child will get spoiled if fallen in a bad company" or "He/she is too immature to live alone" etc. In these cases, the emotional side of a person is shadowing over the logical side. This is why, the logic provided to bolster the emotional decision already made is forced and hence is prone to be fallacious.

Another example that explains emotionally driven decision making involves religion and religious people. The doctrine of religion is based on faith and belief, and not on logic. A person who believes in God does not need evidence of God, he/she just accepts the existence of God to be a universal truth and acts and makes decisions accordingly. Hence, more often than not we see religious people and organizations using scientific principles to try to bolster and justify their belief. People claiming of divine powers and revelations in their holy books often forcibly associate them with science.

Another interesting example can be found in the movie Interstellar. Dr. Brand makes a decision to explore Edmund's planet because of her love for Edmunds. She then backs up her decision with absurd logic having no scientific basis. Even though her decision ended up being correct and favourable, it was just a matter of coincidence. Since one has already made up his/her mind through emotional inclinations, any logic or explanation given in favour of that decision will be a forced one and hence unreliable.

On the other hand, a decision made with deliberate logical thinking, is devoid of presumptions and thus there are no emotional or other restrictions present to affect the decision making process. Once a person is free of preconceptions, he/she can make a decision which is cogent and hence has higher chances of being favourable. However, it is not always possible to free oneself of prejudice and emotions. This takes us to the famous trolley problems. The famous question that whether you will run a train over 5 unknown people or over 1 person very close to you? In such cases, neither of the two decisions are correct or incorrect, because a prejudice will always be a factor which is impossible to remove.