Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Education is necessary for the all round development of a nation. It would not be an exaggeration to say that education has become a basic human necessity. A country which invests resources in educating it's people, will eventually progress towards a well developed and prosperous nation. On the other hand, illiteracy in a country gives rise to various other problems such as poverty, unemployment etc. This is why, government should give proper care and concern towards the education system and funding devoted to the education sector. One way to encourage more students to pursue higher education, who will eventually contribute to the progress of the nation, is to offer free university and college education.

One of the most important reason to employ free education for university, is to help facilitate the studies of students who are economically poor. A student should not miss out on university education merely because of the lack of money. That student might possess the intellect and perseverence to achieve groundbreaking success, but his/her progress is hindered due to monetary issues. Such students can prove beneficial to the nation's growth and it should be the government's responsibility to provide adequate funds to support their higher studies.

Another benefit of free university education is that students can become independent at an early age. Otherwise they would have to rely on their parents to pay their fees. By availing free university education, a massive burden on the shoulders of parents and students is lifted off, and apart from academics, a student can also learn how to be manage themselves on their own. Eventually the student will have to face the reality of the true world, so it is benefecial for them to get accustomed to this life as early as possible.

Furthermore, by availing free university education, more students can gain access to the high level research facilities and experienced faculties, which in turn increases the productivity of the nation. Higher the number of students getting exposed to higher education, higher is the research output and economic output.

In conclusion, if the university and college education is not free of cost, the government might save a few dollars, but it will decrease its chances to produces students who are capable of uplifting the nation economically and scientifically. Thus, government should put active efforts in providing free education to university students.