Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

//Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.//

Education is an important factor in the development of any nation. But it is also necessary to harness the knowledge gained by education into definite direction which can lead to progress. Educational institutions have the responsilibity to enhance the future of it's students and to make sure that a student is provided with appropriate work in order to sustain his/herself. While encouraging students to pursue careers which have copious job opportunities may prove beneficial upto a certain extent, employing this policy can also have other harmful consequences, which is why I am not fully in support of this policy.

While getting a job and earning money is very important, freedom of choice and independence can not be neglected. Students must not be discouraged to pursue the fields of their interest. Sometimes there is parental pressure on students to get a job and start earning money. If educational institutions start employing the same policy then it will further excerbate the burden on a student. A student should be apprised of every field of work, be it industry, scientific research, management, arts etc. and then be allowed to choose a career based on his/her preferences. Meanwhile, it is also necessary to adress to the students regarding the future scope and consequences of adopting a particular field of study. This way, a student will be properly informed about each and every field and then can make an astute decision. For some students, wealth and luxury is an important factor, and this policy works well for these students, but for other students, pursuit of arts and science without much concern of money is of great significance, and hence encouraging them to pursue fields with guaranteed and high paying jobs is not a viable option.

Another reason why this policy may not prove to be effective is that many students are already inclined towards making a career where they are guaranteed with monetary return and benefits. Most of the students choose their universities based on the placement statistics and future scope for employment. In technical institutions, majority of the students opt for high paying jobs, while only a few opt for further studies such as Masters and PhD where the jobs are scanty. Very few students choose a career purely driven by interest, such as arts and science. Which is why this policy will not bring a drastic change in the current trends regarding job acquisition mentality, which is already prevalent. But it will affect students who are determined to pursue a career with less financial output.

In conclusion, instead of diverting students to fields which have plentiful job opportunities, educational institutions should respect an individual's freedom and must encourage them to pursue a career of their interest, meanwhile enlightening them with the pros and cons of every field. This way, students can make a well informed decision which they will not regret later on in their life.