Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is generally claimed that governments should place few limitation on scientific research and development. I am agree with the statement because of the reasons which are elucidated below.

First of all, scientific researches are very expensive works which require financial support from the governments. These researches have long term benefits to the governments and society. So governments can make a good investment on the scientific researches and with fewer restrictions and more supporting they can gain profit. For example, research developments in agriculture have positive consequences for the society. Governments maybe impose some restriction on these researches like genetic modification and increasing crops yielding which are very sensitive issues but if the governments trust the researches, they can bring sustainability to the society and benefit country.

Moreover, placing restriction on scientific development have bad consequences in log term span. It can cause the migration of the researchers of a country due to the limitations. The researchers are treasures of a country and governments should provide a good environment for the researchers to pursue the scientific researches. For instance, the government of Iran place a strict regulation on researches in genetic researches and restrict the research units in different aspects. They banned all the private research institutes and try to monopolize the genetic researches. So there are numerous Iranian researchers who live the country to pursue their researches in a better place.

On the other hand, there are some kinds of researches which require the maximum restriction from the governments because they are so important researches and related to the national security or public health which is prone to spoiling from others. For example, governments define a strict regulation for their scientific researches in defense industry and developments in army. They believe that these researches are very important to the country and they should control all the aspects of the developments in order to prevent the leakage of these precious information.

To sum it up, there are different circumstances in scientific researches and with regard to the type of the researches governments should take a proper action. Most of the scientific researches do not require government restriction whereas there are sensitive fields which require government surveillance and restrictions.