Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people enjoy life more than old people do.

Life is a precious gift given by nature and it is important to enjoy life to the fullest. While the definition of enjoyment may vary from one person to another, I agree with the statement that young people enjoy life more than older people do. This is because the fact that young people possess the necessary physical requirements and enthusiasm which old people lack.

When you are young, you have an intense urge to explore the world and learn new things. To add to it, young people also have the physical strength to satiate this urge. For example, to enjoy sports and other fun activities such as rock climbing, paragliding etc. requires the person to be fit and healthy. Young people still have such fitness and enthusiasm to enjoy such activities. But with age, the body deteriorates, which imposes restrictions to certain activities. Even if old people want to do scuba diving, they cannot because of their weak body. Getting old also accompanies certain diseases such as diabetes, thyroid etc. Thus, lifestyle of old people is confined to household chores. Young people, on the other hand are free from such ailments, and are free to pursue their interests. Their body does not restrict them from enjoying what they like. Hence, it can be said that certain restrictions are already imposed on old people due to their age.

Furthermore, young people are always enthusiastic about about life, while old people always seem lethargic. Old people have already experienced these fun activities when they were young. We often listen to our grandparents talking about their youth days, and how they would pay any price for getting those days back. Old people always seem to miss their youth, their college days and regret that they will never be able to enjoy things the way they did then. Thus, it can be inferred that they feel their enjoyment is restricted. Young people on the other hand, live nonchalantly without any concern for the future. We seldom hear the youth talking about getting old. The old wants to be young again and the youth wants to remain young.

Although there are certain exceptions: for example there are young students who suffer from depression and there are old people who are happy and satisfied with their life. But overall, the spectrum of enjoyment is wider for young people and gets narrower with increasing age. Thus in conclusion, it is fair enough to say that the youth tend to enjoy their life to the fullest as compared to older generations.