A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

It is necessary, for a student, in order to deal with the peculiarities and complications of the real life, to undergo all round development during school and college. For this universities must encorporate a wide range of areas dealing not only with a specialized subject, but with science and arts as a whole.

Universities, by restricting the curricula to narrow and specialized disciplines, tend to hinder the development of a student in other important fields. While science is necesssary for mental progress of a student, liberal arts is important for the emotional and societal progress. Hence, depriving the students of the knowledge of liberal arts may lead to a divestation of basic morals and principles. This is why many universities tend to offer courses on moral ethics and moral sciences to college students.

Furthermore, a narrow and restricted curriculum also means that a student has less areas to explore. Offering a variety of disciplines to study in the initial years of college may allow the students to explore a gamut of fields and then choose a field in which he/she is interested or excels. A student, after having learnt different aspects of science and arts, may then go on to choose a specialization. This is beneficial to both the students and the university, because the students will thrive in fields which they have themselves chosen after much deliberation.

In primary and secondary school, students are mostly bestowed with surficial knowledge of various fields. In depth analysis and complexities of those fields are only encountered when a student reaches college. Thus, making a decision to study a particular specialized subject, provided only superficial knowledge of the same, may prove harmful. The student may like certain area of study based on preliminary knowledge but on detailed examination and study, he/she might have second opinions. In such a case, a circumscribed curricula will prove to be a stymeing factor. On the other hand, a more open syllabus will allow the student to gain detailed knowledge in a plethora of fields, and make a more informed decision.

Incorporating liberal arts in academic syllabi is of crucial importance for the development of soft skills. While science may englighten the mental abilities of a students, liberal arts work on the social behaviour of a student. After all, we live in a society. Ethics and self awareness, history, linguistics, behavioural sciences, psychology and many other fields are important to study the mechanics and governing of societies and human history. As the famous saying goes, "We learn from out past", hence, a proper knowledge of where we come from is of utmost importance to predict where we are going (or must go). Similarly, study of psychology and human behaviour prove to useful while dealing in corporate world or even in quotidian life.

All in all, for the all round development of a student, apart from scientific knowledge, knowledge of soft skills also plays a significant role. And universities, in order to accomplish this target, must incorporate a broader spectrum of academic courses.