Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A society's success may be measured by various standards. Historically, the overall success of the community may be essential than the pleasant lives of it's people. However, a grandiose city may compromise the well-being of it's people and also, it is the legislator's obligation to develop the city in such a way.

Admittedly, prominent cities of the history are the ones that presented great prowess and development. The districts that were ahead of their time by utilizing unprecedented technology or by constructing great monuments were recorded by history and is reminisced by the humans until now. For instance, Rome was able to leave a mark in history because of the various technology it utilized in their cities: the aquaducts, public bathrooms, the Colloseum, and much more was a source of admiration that enabled them to be written in history books. Hence, for a city to be remembered as a epitome of success through human history it would be important to be successful as a whole.

Nevertheless, these successes may entail a sacrifice from their people. Monuments or amenities are sometimes built with the compromise of the people's labor or health and thus may lead a strong resistive force. For instance, in ancient Egypt pharaohs built the pyramids to symbolize their eminence and power. Even though the city is a major attraction for historians and numerous tourists, it demanded countless sacrifice of the Egyptians to build the artifact and as the King's power debilitated, the resistance of the public grew into a resistance that contributed to the failure of Egypt. Consequently, the successful society may be a false virtue in that is may hamper with the happiness of it's people which might result in a instigation.

Last but not least, it is the government's obligation to enhance the people's rights and good living. Impending problems such as unemployment or poverty are such a important issue that it should not be ignored by the legislators and their focus in constructing a propitious society. For instance, government officials should fund districts that are suffering from destitute rather than investing in sports complexes in or to facilitate the Olympics like the Chinese government did in 2008. To build massive sporting facilities, they invested a significant part of their budget in these buildings which had noxious effects to the economy and exacerbated poverty among the public. Even though they successfully finished the Olympics, their society would be hard to be assessed as successfull due to the rampant poverty.

In conclusion, the leaders should not only focus on the districts historical values because it entails costs payed by the people. Rather, it would be better to focus on their current status and solve impending problems first.