Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I argue that in order for a country to be successful on the many popular metrics measuring success, a mixture of caring for both the individual's well-being and prioritizing the greater society that leads a country to thrive.

There are many countries in today's world that have reached first-world status - meaning that these countries are those that people would deem are successful and thriving. But we must look at the metrics that define these countries as so-called "thriving". There are general metrics commonly used such as the Gross Domestic Product (GDP), average life-span, accessibility to health care, and many others, that provide statistics to show whether these countries are doing well. These metrics are usually done through the census or other methods that gather large amounts of data that provides a general "average". Given that these metrics are "average" based, it removes what we would call "outliers" and would therefore not account for any anomolies at the individual level. For example, if a country's GDP was shown to be favourable to tothe military branch of the economy while there has been protests by groups of individuals, it is clear that, through statistics, the government should continue to fund its military to increase it's GDP and ignore the concerns of the individual. Governments, though, are better able to understand what can help a country to continue it's growth in GDP as it has access to this information unlike ordinary citizens.

However, we must not ignore that governments do not only look at grouped statistics such as GDP to make its decisions about its country and its people. In democratic governments, it is the individuals who are able to sway the members in a government through voting. It is the common philosophy of democracy that allows the individuals to take control and prioritize their needs and politicians and governments understand this as well. It is in their favour, as politicians, to care for the individuals in their society. Without care for the individuals, politicians will not be elected and will therefore not ever be in government to mold society. Additionally, it is the individuals that are part of the workforce which allows a country to continue- individuals are the back-bone of the economy, defense, and health. Without taking care of the individuals, there risks being loss of what makes up a soceity and is therefore not in the best interest of governments to ignore the individuals.

It is through a balance of steering society to continuously be on a prosperous path while caring for the individuals that a country can be successful.