Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Without a doubt, in today's world, it is known that students graduating from university, college, or high school have a harder time finding a job than 50 years ago. Many factors come into play as to why this could be the case- the bar for educational standards are getting higher, the number of jobs offered are decreasing, and many other reasons. In this view, educational institutions should educate students on potential future careers, and support the path the student chooses.

In the view of the issue, educational institutes should guide students towards these careers that have multiple job openings and this would make sense especially if job openings are seemingly diminishing. However, it does not necessarily mean new jobs cannot be created. In this day and age, technology has vastly altered the landscape of job opportunities that can be realized. For example, it is commonly heard that a biologist graduating from univeristy will have a hard time finding a job in the city of Vancouver. However, with the internet, the scientiest has the opportunity to look at job applications worldwide and at research institutes that have the resources for biologists. With the decreasing risk of not finding a job, individuals are able to look world wide for opportunities and should therefore continue to pursue their passion.

Together with increased opportunities worldwide, individuals are able study their passions and be happy with their educational career should it be their desired field. There are associated benefits with individuals being happy at their work. Studies have shown that individuals who enjoy their work are more likely to work harder and lead a healthier life. If someone were to be influenced to study a field they were not passionate about to begin with, it would be hard to motivate them to be a good worker and be less of a contributer to the workforce had they chosen a field they were interested in.

While students may choose a path that may not have plentiful jobs, an educational institution should support the students decision. An art student that has been suppressed to go into the field of business just because of potential job opportunity may not even end up working in business if she so hates it. At the same time, the individual would have had to spend their time, money, and emotion to go through university training to become a businesswoman- a waste of resources in hindsight. In this situation, would she had gone to art school, she would have been happier and perhaps even developed her skills as an artist. To reference the second paragraph, she would not need to use traditional paths to make a living, she could make her living through small artist jobs or selling her art online. Educational institutions should encourage students to follow their passions, but educate individuals on what potential future careers they may lead to.

As discussed, it is important for individuals to pursue their passions and educational institutions should support that.