In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Businessmen and businesswomen, politicians, educators, and government officials are positions in which individuals are able impart their knowledge and/or influence others. This power dynamic is a concern in that if they are able to lead in their fields for an indefinite amount of time, it may lead to a continuous bias in favour for the practices of said individual. However, enforcing that these individuals must step down after five years is impractical for every field.

Firstly, some fields such as academia, require consistency for term longer than five years. A research professor, for example, is in their career to make significant contributions to his or her field. To do so, he or she sponsors several research projects to several post-doctoral (PhD) graduate students that have agreed to be part of the laboratory. PhD students are typically expected to be at the university for a minimum of 4 years, while most lasting over 5 years. Some of these projects also span over several students, meaning they can span over decades! As an academic, this professor is only able to make his or her contributions to their field and help the students pursuing academia if he or she is able to stay within their fields. Enforcing that professors need to step down after 5 years will detrimentally impact the types and quality of research conducted along with reducing the amount of support for students.

Secondly, enforcing a change in all fields that have a power-position is not practical. For one, the methods to implement such a change will require a kind of democratic structure to replace the vacant positions. However, orchestrating a voting system every 5 years for every single field is problematic. Not everybody can be replaced, especially if the individual that steps down is a specialist in their field. There could be a shortage of people in the work-force and perhaps nobody is able to fill the shoes of the newly left persons. Gathering all stakeholders to make a decision of who to hire next is both time consuming and hard to organize. There will also be a transitionary period for whoever is hired next, which slows down efficiency in whatever organization he or she joins. Overall, it is simply impractical to implement such a policy.

However, even with all the pitfalls of the policy, the idea for these powerful individuals to step down after a 5 year reign has a silver lining. The notion to have someone in power to step down is to fight against the risk of stagnant thinking and archaic leadership styles. However, going to the length of requiring these individuals to step down is dramatic; instead, organizations can promote self-reflection and annual reviews to ensure that these leaders are continually growing to the needs of their people. With this suggestion, we can combat the risks of long-term leadership.

Implementing a policy that has a strict requirement on career duration is impractical and may lead to worse outcomes. Instead, having leaders review themselves is better way to nearly achieve the same goals the policy intends.