133. In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the posit

It is frequently said that the vigor of any enterprise can be maintained and extended only by periodic changes in its leadership. In some sense, it is hard to deny that fresh ideas from the younger perspective can contribute to the road to success of enterprise. However, this view underestimates the importance of stable and consistent visions which accompany with maturity and experience.

Of course, there are a number of merits that can be expected only from regular changes in management. In the world of modern business where innovation is essential for survival of a corporation, it becomes even a norm to stimulate the entire organization by changes in leadership. In fact, Microsoft is believed to continue its well-known glory into this decade partly because of the wisdom of its owner and former CEO, Bill Gates to invite younger specialists who design its future; despite the great know-how's and experiences of the old members, they knew that their ideas would not perfectly match the rapidly changing market conditions as well as ever-younger new clients.

In politics, shifts in leadership can prevent a strongly established inner-circle from becoming stagnant and corrupt. Lacking the revitalization through new leadership, the latter half of Mao's China produced a number of evils a rigid political system can make. In contrast, the modern China, which introduced the policy to change its power structure on the regular basis, has successfully reduced the old evils and been becoming one of the world's leadership powers.

Beneath the surface, however, there exist many reasons we need not to extol the wisdom of frequent changes in leadership. When it comes to the cost of trial-and-errors that is inevitable for most inexperienced new leaders, it becomes clear that the success of an enterprise is not a simple function of filling new bloods. In many professional sports clubs, we can easily observe the increasing confusions and ever-complicated messes plagued in certain inferior organizations which too easily fire their head coaches and staffs. To the contrary, despite the long-term tyranny of the Steinbrenner, the Yankees have successfully continued its empire.