In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Presidential elections in the democratic society has become a essential ritual that symbolizes the publics participation in politics. Dominant coteries are changed periodically. This tradition, although it can prevent dictatorship, can be confusing and might even hamper a long term plan that is propitious for the society.

Admittedly, changing leaders may help obviate from a single power to dominate. Since a perpetual power is prone to corruption, interchange of power every 5 years is a sound way to prevent it. North Korea for example, is a epitome of dictator ship and it is widely known for the corrupted government, does not provide financial support for their penurious citizens while the government officials maintain extravagant life-styles. On the other hand, South Korea practicing democracy only allows 5 years of power which is not enough time to take advantage of the power to oneself, obviously leading to a relatively clear government.

Nevertheless, a mercurial state of power may also engender chaos and it may deteriorate efficiency of the leaders. Any profession requires a time of adaption and considering the importance of the jobs, it may take 1 or even 2 years to fully understand the job and one's role: after this adaption, the individual has only 3~4 years to work. In contrast, if power is maintained for a prolonged time, the time spent for adjusting would be significantly decreased, enabling a effective governing of the citizens. For instance, in Rome there was a time when kings were assassinated every year or two, and this situation made the society very unstable and anxious. Thus, 5 years may be too short to stabilize the public after changes of dominance.

Last but not least, there are some plans that require a long term to accomplish. Education for example, needs more than 5 years to actually assess the results of a plan. If the Educational Minister changes frequently, students will be exasperated and confused by the convoluted curriculum. For instance, Korean Education has suffered capricious change due to the numerous supplant in educational power. This caused the students preparing for university entrance exams to study 2 or even more unnecessary curriculums to take the exam: this lead to countless protests of parents who are zealous when it comes to their children's education. Therefore, in some disciplines where a long sighted legislation is required, the leaders should not be frequently changed.

In conclusion, preventing corruption may be accomplished by substitution of power every few years. Nonetheless, the leaders themselves may experience difficulty in understanding their occupations which would be detrimental to work efficiency not to mention the abashment it may cause to the public.