Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether college should require students to only take coursers in their specific area of study. Indisputably, students majoring in heavy math-based courses will gain the most when they only focus in that area, since it is not a interdisciplinary major. Nevertheless, there are many other areas of studies that requires a global understanding of many fields in order for a student thrive in their future career. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that institutions should require students to take only courses in their field and would argue that they should have a broader education.

First of all, there are many majors that require an interdisciplinary study, even though freshman’s on this areas do not realize right away. To illustrate this, let us look at the example of an International Relations major coursework which they often requires understanding in macroeconomics, languages, communication skills and some understanding of law. In this circumstance, obviously that a student will need to take classes in many different fields to get a complete education in this important area.

Furthermore, if all institutions required that the students should focus only in their areas, oftentimes new students would not understand that they need a holistic view for their career. Specifically, an income student of civil engineering, for instance, that is interested only in structural analysis, would not want to take an ethics class that helps us shape as citizens. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that we do need to have an understanding of many different fields. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that it is essential that universities do not require students to only take courses that they are interested.

Admittedly, there are some areas that do gain advantages for only having in their coursework disciplines only related to their specific major. This is true especially when it comes to math or physics. In addition, these areas do require an intense workload in their specific content, and not a broader education like in others. However, the above argument does not constitute a enough claim that the universities should require the students. Because, every area has different needs and it is not their duty to make impositions.

In conclusion, although some areas required deeper understanding only in their field, many others need a holistic view. Hence, taking coursers from many different areas can shape students better for their careers and also to become citizens. Because, universities are also responsible for helping to create a better community for the region.