Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

As history has proved, the job market is dynamic and ever-changing. As such, demands for jobs in different fields are transient and vary depending on the social and economic climate at the time. Thus, educational institutes should focus their energy on encouraging students to reach their optimal performance in the field of their choice, as opposed to choosing a field with a plethora of jobs for two reasons.

Firstly, the job market is not stagnant, meaning that the availability of jobs changes constantly. For example, due to the influx of technology and its necessity in society as of recently, jobs related to computer engineering and data science have increased dramatically. Students majoring in computer science are much more easily able to find internships at start-ups, Facebook, Google, and Amazon than students majoring in healthcare are able to find internships in their respective field. However, this was not the case 20 years ago, during the inchoate phases of technology. Taking this into account, it is not feasible for educational institutes to persuade students to choose a field of study based on job availability, since there is no guarantee that these jobs will still remain in high demand after a couple years. By doing so, educational institutes may be setting their students up for limited chances of success, and students may be forced to reconsider their choices a couple years down the line.

Secondly, research has repeatedly shown that passion positively correlates to performance. Students are not always interested in the fields with high job rates, and tend to produce lesser quality work than their peers, who may be interested in the field. Take for example, a student who majored in computer science because a counselor suggested it would lead to better job opportunities, as opposed to a student who majored in computer science after being involved in a multitude of extra curriculars related to computer science. Chances of the latter student achieving success are much higher than the prior, due to their passion for the field. Educational institutes should take into account the factors that lead to high performance and the future success of their students when motivating them to choose a field of study, since personal preferences play a large role in how likely one is to continuously pursue and excel in a field.

Although proponents of this statement may claim that the role of educational institutes is to set their students up for financial stability and success in the future, simply pursuing financial success is not sufficient enough to attain it. Self motivation plays a large role in individual success, and educational institutes can only prepare students for so much. This inner motivation can only push students further if they truly care for their field and their role in said field. Thus, educational institutes should encourage their students to "follow their dreams" as opposed to "follow the money."