The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The recommendation argues that Climpson Industries should implement an electronic monitoring of employees internet use in order to qualify the amount of time spent on personal activities, leading to increased productivity and overall profits based on the results of a national survey. However, the argument, as stated cannot be effectively evaluated due to a lack of information. Thus, more questions should be asked in order to elucidate the situation, which will help determine whether or not the recommendation will produce the intended results.

First, was the national survey conducting scientifically in order to be generalized to the entire population? If the survey only consisted of college aged students, but Climpson Industries employs a range of ages, the results of the national survey may not be applicable to Climpson Industries. College aged students may spend significantly more time on personal and recreational activities at work than any other age, which could have skewed the results of the survey to say that a majority of workers use company computers to engage in personal activities. If individuals at Climpson Industries do not match the sample population of the survey and spend less time on recreational activities, than it is unlikely that implementing the electronic monitoring system will significantly change productivity levels. Additionally, if the national survey focused on retail workers, whereas Climpson Industries is a tech company, then the results of the survey cannot be generalized to the Climpson Industries. Retail workers may have less responsibility and commitment to their work than employees at Climpson Industries, so they may waste more time on leisure activities, whereas Climpson employees spend their days working. If either of these cases holds true, than the argument is severely hampered.

Second, will reducing the amount of leisure time employees have actually increase productivity and lead to an increase in overall profit? The time spent on personal activities may refresh employees brains, who come back ready to work harder. Reducing their breaks and time for personal activity may lead to slower productivity and a lesser quality of work, thereby reducing overall profits. Furthermore, if Climpson Industries profits are not purely dependent on how much their employees work, than a simple increase in productivity may not be enough to significantly increase their overall profits. If either of these is the case, then the recommendation that reducing the amount of time spent on personal activities by installing an electronic monitoring software to increase productivity and profit will not hold water.

Last, when and where to the employees conduct these personal activities? If employees use their phones, then they can use their own data to continue these activities, even if the company installs an electronic monitoring software on the company computers. Thus, the amount of time spent on personal and recreational activities will not decrease. Additionally, if employees only use the company computers to engage in personal activities during their lunch hour, then the new software may not be effective. Employees my still use their lunch hour to waste time on personal activities, thus the overall time spent on personal activities will not change. If either of these appropriately describes the use of Internet at Climpson Industries, then it is unlikely that the new monitoring software will result in employees using less of the Internet for their personal activities.

In conclusion, the argument is not presented cogently enough to be properly evaluated. More evidence about how the survey was conducted, the relationship between decreased leisure time, productivity, and overall profit, and the situations in which employees use the Internet for personal activities is needed. Further clarification on these instances will help to effectively evaluate the argument.