The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The summary claims that we can expect a steady decline of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. This is based on the fact that there has been an increase of salicylates, which belong to the same chemical family as aspirin, in foods and that a study found that there has been a decline in the average headaches reported by participants. Although a plausible conclusion, more evidence is needed to effectively evaluate the argument.

First, information on the studies methodology and consistency with the scientific method is necessary. For example, the study may have not consisted of participants who suffer from chronic headaches, which is not representative of the whole Mentia population. If these participants had frequent headaches, then the salicylates may have affected them differently than they would people who only receive occasional headaches. Similarly, these participants may have been taking medication to reduce their headaches during the study, indicating that salicylates may not have been the sole cause the reduction in headaches. Additionally, since it was a long study, there may have been high levels of attrition. The participants who experienced more frequent headaches may have dropped out, whereas those who did not, remained in the study. If this were the case, then the study would have reported a decline in the number of headaches, but it may not have been valid. If either of these situations hold true, then the argument is severely weakened.

Second, evidence about the effects of salicylates is necessary to evaluate whether its introduction into food will result in fewer headaches. Although salicylates belong to the same family as aspirin, it may not have the same effects. Salicylates could be involved in reducing stress, and if many of these participants suffered from stress induced headaches, then the reduction of stress may have contributed to fewer headaches. However, if individuals have different reasons for headaches, like genetics or visual difficulties, then salicylates may not help to reduce their headaches. Additionally, salicylate could be a placebo, and individuals who were told that they were receiving medication for their headaches simply felt the placebo effect. Thus, salicylates may not be effective in actually reducing the amount of headaches one suffers from. The argument that salicylates reduce headaches is undermined if either of these cases holds water.

Third, more evidence is needed about how salicylates are used is before judging the argument. For example, food-processing companies may not have added a significant amount of salicylates to foods. The difference between foods with only natural salicylates and those with added salicylates may be minimal. If this is the case, then the reduction in headaches may not be attributed to the increased use of salicylates in food. Furthermore, the article claims that food processing discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives. However, there is no evidence to say whether or not this will occur. If food processing companies do not include more salicylates in foods as flavor additives, then it may not affect those with headaches. Thus, there probably will not be a decline in headache rates. If either of these is true, then the argument that the use of salicylates in food will lead to a reduced number of headaches is hampered.

The argument is not presented cogently enough to assume that the increase in salicylates in food will result in fewer headaches among the Mentia residents. More evidence is needed about how the study was conducted, the effects of salicylates, and how salicylates are used in food. With this evidence, we can effectively evaluate the argument in order to conclude whether or not the salicylates will produce the desired results.