Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

As students progress through the education system, their education becomes more and more formal, often at the cost of creativity and individuality. Compare the activities of fourth grade and 12 grade; one implemented creative projects, while the other focused on more rigorous analysis and constant tests. Additionally, the purpose of college has shifted from being an individual endeavor to one more restricted by higher institutions, due to the increasing price and popularity of such institutions. Instead of learning to broaden their knowledge, students are now increasingly focused on achieving the highest grade possible by any means, grade point averages and out-of-major requirements. Thus, I believe that the purpose of education was initially meant to free the mind and allow for creative individuality, but has now become more rigid, leading to generations of ordinary students.

Elementary school was characterized with projects, creativity, and individuality when I was growing up. However, the introduction of Common Core into the education system created significant changes. Students are now taught a "standardized" way of completing assignments and questions, and are often marked wrong if they do not follow these procedures, despite having the right answer. This system restricts students from thinking for themselves and forces them to follow a rigid instruction system, thereby limiting free spirit and mind. Additionally, as students progress from elementary school to high school, there are much fewer opportunities to express their own thoughts and individuality, which truly demotivates students. They are less inclined to view education as a positive means of expressing their knowledge and broaden their horizons and are more concerned with how they are going to pass their classes. Although initially, and in the past, education focused on creating free spirited and open minded students, educators and students alike are now increasingly focused on grades and following protocols set in place, which restrict students' ability to think for themselves.

Likewise, in the past, higher education was cheaper, and there were, consequently, less restrictions placed on students. They were allowed to pursue what they wanted without focusing on requirements outside of their preferred major. However, most students today spend an increasingly large portion of their college career focusing on achieving the highest grade, grade point averages, and out-of-major requirements. Take for example, the plight of women in higher education. They were not allowed to pursue a degree and often times took the classes simply to heighten their education. They were overlooked in classes and were not given credit for the classes they took. Although unfair, this exemplified what education meant to these individuals. It was nothing more than a method to open their minds to the limitless possibilities, a simple tool for learning more about the world and themselves. Fast forward 30 years, students now complain constantly about their workload and the amount of "unnecessary" classes they have to take to meet college requirements, and are often devastated when they do not achieve the grades they want, not because they did not learn the material, but because they are concerned about what it means for their future. This is probably due to the fact that higher education has become a staple in society, and is often time a necessity for success in the future. However, this necessity has sacrificed the true purpose of education. Comparing the two situations, it is easy to see how higher education has shifted from being a means to expand knowledge to, simply, a stepping stone for the future.

By comparing the differences of primary school and secondary school, as well as higher education in the past and higher education now, it is easy to see that the focus of education has shifted from creating individuals to simply passing on knowledge. Students of all ages are now concerned more with grades than actually learning the education, and are forced to learn material in a structured manner, reducing and necessity to think freely and for themselves. For these reasons, I believe that education was initially meant to allow students to free their mind and sprit by creating opportunities to express their individuality, but has been transformed into a rigid process that limits students freedom and causes them to lose their sense of individuality.