The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Although the memo aims to suggest a means to reverse the trend of declining sales, it is not presented cogently enough to assume that the suggestion will have the intended results. More evidence is needed to conclude whether placing ads in "Exotic Pets Monthly" will increase profits for Top Dog as it has for Fish Emporium, including what types of animals each store has, who reads "Exotic Pets Monthly," and what types of animals consumers are shopping for.

Even though the names Top Dog and Fish Emporium imply that they sell dogs and fish, respectively, we do not know, specifically, what each store sells. For example, Fish Emporium may be popular for the diverse species of fish they carry. They may have exotic fishes from all over the world, which would attract readers of "Exotic Pets Monthly." However, Top Dog may only have a small variety of dogs, which would not lure in individuals who want to own "exotic" pets. Thus, putting an ad in "Exotic Pets Monthly" would not have the same effect on Top Dog stores, that it did on Fish Emporium. Additionally, the amount of pet stores in Gulf City should be taken into account. If there is no competition for fish stores, and more competition for dog stores, it would be unlikely that simply placing an ad would result in a large profit increase for Top Dog, like it did for Fish Emporium.

The director also did not account for their target market and whether these people read "Exotic Pets Monthly." If people who read "Exotic Pets Monthly" are more interested in owning fish than dogs, Top Dog would not see a profit increase in their stores. Additionally, readers of "Exotic Pets Monthly" may be looking for diverse and different species of pets, which is much more common in fish than in dogs. Before concluding whether or not an ad in "Exotic Pets Monthly" would lead to a profit increase for Top Dog Stores, we need evidence to judge is the Top Dog store's pet stock matches what readers of "Exotic Pets Monthly" is looking for. If the two do no correspond, than it is unlikely that Top Dog will see the same profit as Fish Emporium.

Lastly, consumer need should be considered before placing an ad in "Exotic Pets Monthly." It is more common for fish to die quickly, than it is for dogs. Often times, people replace their fishes quickly, but do not replace their dogs. Thus, there may be more of a market for fish than dogs, and the increase in profit may not have been due to the ads, but simply because a plethora of fish died and their owners are looking to replace them. The profit increase cannot be attributed to the ad placed in "Exotic Pets Monthly" without ruling out other possibilities. Because of this, it is difficult to conclude that placing a Top Dogs ad in "Exotic Pets Monthly" will result in a profit increase, because we do not know the needs of consumer reading "Exotic Pets Monthly" and whether these were the customers that contributed to the profit increase in Fish Emporium stores.

Although a potentially viable method of increasing Top Dog store profits, more evidence is needed to conclude whether this suggestion will produce the intended results. The differences of the stores and consumers need to be evaluated, as well as where Fish Emporium's profits actually came from.