The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Studying history provides us with an insight into the past. By doing so, it allows us to evaluate our own actions and compare them to those of the past. Despite the changes and advancements in society over time, history often repeats itself, implying that people living now are not drastically different than those living years ago. Thus, although dispelling the illusion that people now are significantly different from those of the past is a benefit of studying history, the main benefit of studying history is to understand how past events should guide our actions now to produce to better society.

First, although people living now are unquestionably different from those living in the past, material changes constitute a majority of the difference. For example, people in today's society have advanced technology, compared to those of the past. However, technological innovations are still under way. Just as Benjamin Franklin discovered and understood electricity years ago, today's society is discovering new types of solar energy. This is important to note because it elucidates the idea that although situations and society has changed, individuals are still inherently acting the same way. Although a major benefit of studying history, the main benefit goes furthers allows for discussion about how future mistakes can be avoided by looking to similar situations in the past.

Highlighting the similarities between the past and present is not enough, although it is definitely beneficial. Studying history also allows society to evaluate situations and their results in the past in order to better understand how to deal with situations today. For example, in today's political world, immigrants are being detained at the border without food, water, or adequate living arrangements. Stated bluntly, they are being treated as less than human. This can be comparable to the concentration camps during World War 2 in Nazi Germany. Studying history would suggest that we be kinder to people and avoid the type of catastrophe that happened in the past. Forming parallels between the past and present allows today's society to act for the better good, and not make the mistakes of the past. Thus, the main benefit of studying history is to use past behavior to guide and influence future actions.

Citing a more inclusive society, accepting of more races, ethnicities, and genders, some would argue that people today are drastically different from those of the past and this did not come about by observing past behaviors. However, the increasing levels of acceptance come from those who have studied history and are knowledgeable about what discrimination can do. Thus, although society may be different, it came about through understanding past processes and events. No one wanted to re-experience the days of heightened discrimination. People and events today are similar to those of the past, and it is important to draw similarities between the two in order to learn from the past and produce a better society, which is ultimately the main benefit of studying history.