The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendations is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Movies Galore aims to increase profits by reducing operating expenses; however, their argument is not presented cogently enough to assume that doing so will lead to the predicted results. There are many factors that need to be accounted for before deciding whether or not the recommendations are likely to cause in an increase in profit. For example, did the changes implemented in the first store actually increase profits significantly? What are the demographics of the people that shop at the downtown store and are they different from other stores? Is the decline in profits due to increased competition? Without the answers to these questions, it cannot be concluded that decreasing operating expenses will lead to increased profits.

The memorandum claims that the downtown store decreased its operating expenses by cutting down the number of movies and reducing store hours. However, we do not know if these changes led to a considerable increase in profits. If these changes only minimally increased profits, it is unlikely that implementing these types of changes in all the stores will have any real impact. Additionally, it may cost more to implement these changes than to add new features to their store to increase revenue. For example, it may prove more effective to offer free weekly screenings to the society, and sell candy and popcorn at these events. This would increase exposure to the stores and, subsequently, increase profits, instead of limiting exposure by closing the store early.

The demographics of each store is also important in determining whether these types of changes will increase profit. If there is a store that is frequented by elderly people, removing all movies older than 5 years may prove to be detrimental to their profit, since older movies target older people. Additionally, if a different store is primarily visited by college students, closing Movies Galore by 6pm would probably lead to fewer customers, since college students are more likely to visit these stores later at night. Thus, demographics should be taken into account when deciding whether a decrease in operating expenses will be helpful or harmful to profits..

Lastly, the owner of the movie stores does not mention any type of competition that may have caused profits to decline. If a new movie store opened that includes free screenings, or an online streaming site became more popular, it is unlikely that implementing these changes will lead to an increase in profit, because people have found other sources to get the same product. Additionally, the owner claims that Movies Galore is famous for their low prices, but there may be a new store that has lower prices. Thus, consumers may have decided to change suppliers, leading to decreased profits.

For these reasons, it is difficult to predict whether making these changes will lead to an increase in profit. Reducing operating expenses may just be a way to keep the stores afloat, instead of producing any real profit. It is necessary to look at each store individually, and in relation to possible competitors, in order to determine whether or not making these operating changes is more useful than creating more activity within the store.