People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

More often than not, people seek the safest, most stable methods to pursue their lives: a majority of students attend college because they are more likely to land a job, employees remain in jobs they no longer enamored with because they may not be able to find another, etc. Even though these conservative actions lead to a more secure lifestyle, some decisions need to be risky in order for individuals to feel as though they have led a fulfilling life. Thus, people should take daring actions, only if they passionately believe in themselves and their decision, even if they have not prudently considered all the consequences. Meticulous planning is necessary in certain instances, while fearless daring is required in others.

Firstly, careers are an area where consequences of risky actions should be considered, especially when other people will be affected by one's actions. Take for example, a single mom who is no longer happy at her job, but has a family to feed and take care of. If she were to take a risk and quit her job without fully thinking of all the consequences, her family will suffer alongside her. In this case, she would need to carefully consider the way she quits, so she stays on good terms with the company, and other possible jobs or solutions before undertaking the action. Thus, it is important to note that more thought is required when others are involved or dependent on someone. In this case, a risky action of quitting her job should not be taken until she has considered all the possible consequences so she can be ready for the future.

Conversely, individual people should follow their passions, regardless of whether they are certain about the outcome, since risky actions are considered risky for their unpredictability. It is impossible to know whether or not the action will lead to success or failure. For example, Mark Zuckerberg dropped out of college because he was passionate about creating Facebook, even though he had no clue that it would one day be the paragon of social media. Without considering the consequences of dropping out of college, he followed his passion with full belief in himself. It is for this reason that Facebook became as successful as it was. If he has carefully considered all the consequences and outcomes of his action and decided against it because of the sheer unlikeliness of success, Facebook may not have been created, Zuckerberg may have received a decent education and landed a well-paying job, but he would not achieved the levels of success that he did. Often times, knowing the consequences associated with a risk prevents people from following through, which is why people should rely on their passion when taking risky decisions and jump in with full force.

Taking everything into account, this issue is increasingly complex and depends on the situation. Without knowing what type of risk an individual is taking, how they feel about the risk and their abilities, it is difficult to argue that all risks should be carefully considered. Although certain situations require more meticulous planning, other risks are solely based on chance or one's passion and ability to adapt as their actions unfold.