the following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. this research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertia village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying culture is invalid as well. The interview- centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that Dr. Field’s previous research is no longer valid, this author does not make a cogent case for his conclusions on the child-rearing techniques in Tertia and that the interview-centered method is more valid than the observation-centered method. It is easy to understand why Dr. Karp has rendered these conclusions, but more evidence is needed to establish whether his arguments are valid, including evidence on the interview-method, the cultural norms of the island now compared to 20 years ago, and whether there are differences within the group of islands.

Dr. Karp states that his interview-centered method was more accurate than the observation-centered approach used by Dr. Field, but does not specify the types of questions asked or whether these children understood what he was asking. His interview could have included many questions about biological parents, instead of vague questions about their childhood. As a result, children would inevitably spend more time talking about their biological children. If the questions are focused specifically on their biological parents, it would weaken Dr. Karp’s argument that the interview-centered method is more accurate than the observation-centered method, because it does not paint the whole picture, and focuses on only one part. Additionally, there may have been a communication barrier between his interviewers and interviewees, which could have led to inaccurate responses. These interviews could have also taken place in front of their parents, so children may have been more inclined to talk about their parents. If all of these situations were true, then it severely weakens Dr. Karp’s argument, since it suggests that the interview was not an accurate picture of their childrearing techniques. Thus, more evidence is needed on how the interviews were conducted in order to conclude which method was more accurate.

Additionally, Dr. Karp states that Dr. Field’s research was conducted 20 years ago, but does not account for any cultural changes in behavior and traditions before claiming that Field’s research was invalid. Twenty years is enough time for new behaviors to become the norm, so Field’s research may have been valid at the time. If childrearing techniques became more primary family oriented, as opposed to collectivist, then it weakens Dr. Karp’s conclusion that previous research was not valid. More evidence of the changes in cultural norms of childrearing in the Tertia island is needed before invalidating previous research. Additionally, Dr. Karp’s interviews have included children from other islands surrounding Tertia, as well as Tertia. There is no evidence to suggest that these islands have the same childrearing techniques, and it is possible that each island has a different norm. By grouping all the islands together, without specifying whether or not they have the same practices, weakens Dr. Karp’s arguments, since we cannot be sure whether his results are more representative of the other islands, as opposed to Tertia.

Dr. Karp’s results may have been appropriate for how he conducted his study, but there is not enough evidence to say whether or not his arguments are valid. To invalidate Dr. Field’s research and form conclusions on the child rearing traditions, more evidence regarding the interview-method and cultural changes/norms in Tertia is needed.