Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Although at first glance, the argument seems valid, it is based on dubious inferences and more evidence is needed to determine its validity. Specifically, the teaching style of the professors, changes in the intellectual ability of the student population, rankings of both colleges, and types of jobs students are applying to should all be taken into account.

The claim suggests that professors began to assign higher grades to their students as a result of the evaluation. However, the claim does not account for the fact that the evaluations may have encouraged professors to change their teaching style and become more involved in their students' success. Professors may have started holding more office hours, or offering extra help to those who needed it. They may have provided more extra credit or created more succinct and effective lectures, leading to higher student success. Thus, the increase in grade point averages may have been a result of better teaching and extra help, as opposed to an inaccurate reflection of student grades. Concurrently, there may have been in influx of new professors after the implementation of the evaluations, who had different teaching methods, more suitable for students to learn, than the older professors. This also could have led to more students enrolling in classes with the newer, "better" professors, resulting in higher grades. Thus, this weakens the argument that the evaluation led to an misrepresentation of the students' academic abilities.

Additionally, since the time the evaluation procedure was implemented to now, the student population has been recycled and is different from the initial students. These new students may be more intelligent or have different study habits that lead to greater success. Thus, the higher grades and increase in grade point averages cannot simply by imputed to the professors and would be representative of student achievement. If this is case, it weakens the argument that professors assign higher grades as a result of the evaluations.

Additionally, the jobs students are applying for should be taken into account, since they may be applying to jobs completely out of their range of abilities. If students from Omega university are applying to high level jobs straight out of college, it is unlikely that they will land the jobs. It could be possible that students from Alpha University are applying to lower level jobs, resulting in a higher success rate. Thus, it weakens the argument that students at Omega University are less successful than those at Alpha University.

Lastly, the relative rankings and environment of both schools should be considered. If, objectively, Alpha University is higher in rankings of universities, their students may have an advantage, not because of the students' skill level, but because of the university itself. In addition, Alpha University may also have a evaluation program, but their graduates still land jobs. As a result, we cannot conclude that eliminating the evaluation will change anything about Omega University. Thus, it weakens the argument that ridding the school and professors of the evaluation program will enable graduates to be more successful in finding jobs.

The claim is not presented cogently, thus more evidence is needed to determine whether or not the conclusion is valid. By analyzing teaching methods, professor and student rollovers, what jobs students are applying to, and the rankings and similarities between Omega and Alpha Universities, we can find more evidence to substantialize the argument.