the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. in developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Over time, there have been many different approaches to how individuals should teach others. Some are martinets, while others are more lenient. The statement recommends that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and to ignore negative ones, but this implies that all actions fall under a strict category, when actions are actually relative to those around them. The idea of positive and negative actions is not and black and white idea, and is dependent on the situations around it. Someone in a poor, uneducated area may be praised for something as mundane as attending high school, whereas someone in a wealthy area may be ignored for deciding not to attend college. Additionally, constant praise or neglect can lead to less effective learning, since those who receive praises often are only working to get praised, while those who are neglected often will give up and refuse to learn.

This ideology is based in psychology and known as learned helplessness. An individual can do many things to get attention, but if they never receive that attention, then they will give up. In this case, an individual will not learn if they are ignored for their negative actions, since they may not realize they are doing anything wrong, or will continue to do it since they are getting away with their actions. Thus, it seems necessary to acknowledge a negative action, in in order to teach the individual how to perform more positive actions. For example, ignoring one who steals from stores will only motivate them to continue stealing, since they did not receive any repercussions or corrections for their actions. However, if they were faced with punishment, it is unlikely that they will engage in the same behavior over and over.

Additionally, although praising positive actions may seem effective, it could result in ineffective attitudes and learning. For example, a child who is constantly praised, may think that they are superior and when they do not receive the same praise, they worry that they are not living up to the expectation. In addition, constant praise for actions leads may cause an individual to perform positive actions simply for the praise. This is seen throughout educational platforms in students who earn A’s simply for the letter grade, instead of actually learning the material. They are praised for their results, but they didn’t truly learn anything in the process, so the praise was not appropriate and will not help them become more successful. The self-satisfaction is not motivation enough to strive to be better than what they already are.

Thus, to avoid the negative effects associated with always ignoring negative actions and praising positive actions, individuals should aim to acknowledge all actions and aim to teach others to be better, no matter where their actions fall. The goal of teaching others is to motivate them to be better than what they are, which is not accomplished by praise, which leads to self-satisfactory behavior, or neglect, which leads to learned helplessness and the feeling that no one cares enough to correct you.