The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Acknowledging and praising the positives is surely the best way to teach one. This motivates an individual to work harder and do better, but it doesn’t help if the same person doesn’t know his/her weaknesses and work towards to overcome. While it is essential to nudge people about what they are good at, but it is also important to make them realize their negatives.

For instance, take a technical developer. He is punctual and dedicated, goes office on time, attends meetings without any delay, helps colleagues, finishes the assigned objects within a given timeframe and with utmost quality. During the appreciation time of the year, if he gets an appraisal either in the form of awards or compensation hike, he would feel good about his hard work. It pushes him to work on his positives further to learn more and do better. This example illustrates that it is important to elevate the positives in a person and praise.

Furthermore, the claim assumes that ignoring the drawbacks is an effective method of teaching. But, in my opinion, it could make people ignorant and headstrong and make them think that they are the most intelligent persons in the room, which leaves no chance for progression and improvement. For example, take a professor who has a Ph.D. in the subject he teaches but lacks in the methods of teaching. If nobody said anything to him about this, he would think that he is doing a great job and never know that his teaching methods are not effective. By letting him know this, he could improve his skills and be better at this job. So, it is essential to let a person know about his negatives which help him to overcome the negative points.

In conclusion, while it is good to praise positive actions, ignoring the negative ones are damaging. Knowing both sides and working on them are as important as each to a person to learn and improve.